About the program

Now in its ninth year,  Victorian Women Lawyers is proud to again be conducting the Warren Moot in 2023.

The Warren Moot is named in honour of former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria, the Honourable Marilyn Warren AC KC. The Warren Moot provides participants with an opportunity to test their advocacy skills and engage directly with respected members of the judiciary.

The Warren Moot is open to women law students, graduates and solicitors who are members of Victorian Women Lawyers.  The Moot is endorsed by the Honourable Professor Marilyn Warren AC QC and proudly sponsored by Maddocks.

We will be launching this year’s Warren Moot on Wednesday, 23 August 2023.

Applications to register to participate in this year’s Moot are now open. Get in quick – a limited number of spots are available. Register your team by filling out the form below.

More information can be found in the competition flyer here.


  • Participation is subject to the Moot Rules (view here)
  • All participants must be members of VWL
  • If you are individual and would be liked to be placed in a team, please email [email protected] to be placed on the waitlist (places are limited and we cannot guarantee a team placement)


  • Launch event: Wednesday, 23 August 2023
  • Round One: Monday, 11 September 2023
  • Quarter Final: Monday, 9 October 2023
  • Semi-Final: Monday, 30 October 2023
  • Grand Final & Presentation Evening: Monday, 20 November 2023


Warren Moot Honour Board

2022 Winners - 
Catherine Zhou, Mary Nguyen, Wei Wen Phang and Felicia Leong

2021 Winners -  Jenna Dimitrakas, Clare Stambe and Monique Scalzo

2020 Winners -  Amelia French, Amelia Hunter, Olivia Smedley and Sarah Tucker

2019 Winners -  Margie Brown, Steph Noack and Beatrice Paull

2018 Winners -  Alexandra Harrison-Ichlov, Michelle Ainsworth, Eleni Kannis and Emma Ffrench-Mullen

2017 Winners -  Julianna Marshall, Catharine Thorpe, Holly Jager and Paige Darby

2016 Winners - Ellen Williams, Kelly Butler, Bobbi Murphy and Holly Fairhurst

2015 Winners - Reegan Morison, Katherine Farrell, Amy Yeap and Alice Smith

Registration Form

Registrations have now closed. Please email [email protected] to be placed on the wait list.