Warren Moot

Inaugural Warren Moot set to foster new generation of women advocates


After three hard fought rounds, the Grand Final of the Victorian Women Lawyers (VWL) Warren Moot – the newest landmark in the legal calendar – is set for 14 October.

The Warren Moot was launched in September this year with the encouragement of the Honourable Marilyn Warren AC, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria and the support of law firm, Maddocks. It aims to address the low numbers of women lawyers in advocacy roles, encourage women lawyers to participate in more public speaking and provide insight into a career at the Bar.

“The quality of the mooting has been outstanding. Anyone in the profession who came to the past three rounds to support these emerging talents would have been impressed by their commitment to preparation and outstanding delivery,” said Kirsten Adams, VWL Convenor.

“That has been the aim of this initiative all along – to empower women lawyers to get on their feet in a forum where they can test and hone their talents.”
Chief Justice Warren’s support of the initiative is based on her Honour’s experience.
“It is rare that I see women advocates appearing before me, rarer still for women to be given speaking roles,” Chief Justice Warren said. “My experience is reflective of a broader problem - that women remain significantly underrepresented at the Bar.”
Women currently make up 27% of practising barristers in Victoria. They comprise 11.5% of Victoria’s senior counsel – the group considered the State’s leading advocates.

“So long as this underrepresentation continues, the community is missing out on a valuable resource. It is therefore vital that we continue to encourage and support women to take up advocacy roles, and importantly, that we encourage practitioners to brief more women. Victorian Women Lawyers remains at the forefront of this campaign,” Chief Justice Warren said.
The teams through to the Grand Final are:

  • Team 4 (Supreme Court): Alice Smith, Katherine Farrell, Amy Yeap and Reegan Morison
  • Team 5 (Supreme Court): Anita Das, Clara Jordan-Baird, Sarah Werner and Sarah Man

Ms Adams of VWL said: “We have been buoyed by the support and enthusiasm for the initiative demonstrated to date by many members of the legal profession. This includes members of the judiciary who generously donated their time and expertise in adjudicating the preliminary mooting rounds.

“We hope the profession turns out in force to see the emerging advocacy talent at the inaugural Grand Final on 14 October at the Supreme Court,” she concluded.

WHAT: Victorian Women Lawyers Warren Moot
WHEN: 5.45pm for 6pm start, 14 October 2015
WHERE: Court 15, Supreme Court of Victoria, William Street, Melbourne
INQUIRIES: 03 9607 9390 : [email protected]
Media inquiries: Alicia Patterson 0403 17 2024 or email

Warren Moot Semi Final Teams

Team 5 (Supreme Court 2)Team 7 (Maddocks)Justice Hollingworth
Team 6 (Supreme Eloquence)Team 4 (Supreme Court 1)Judge Hogan

The semi final round will be held at Maddocks on 29 September 2015.

Warren Moot First Round

On Tuesday 15 and Thursday 17 September the plaintiff and defendant teams below go head to head at Maddocks in a retrial of Hawker v The Queen [2012] VSCA 219.
In that case, a jury convicted Stephen Hawker of recklessly causing serious injury to Leigh Brockley by shooting him with a .22 rifle at night outside his ex-partner’s house in Narre Warren. The retrial was ordered due to irregularities in the trial judge’s ruling about the admissibility of a statement signed by Brockley a week later in hospital.

  • Mixed bag (Ryan Carlisle Thomas, Australian Crime Commission, VGSO) v Supreme Eloquence
  • Victoria University v Supreme Court (2)
  • CU at the Moot v Supreme Court (1)


Watch this space to see which teams go through to the semi-final!